Posted by: Mad Lamb | 15/04/2013

As small as a mustard seed

It’s amazing how easily we can lose the wonder of the promises in The Bible.

I have been sharing my journey of faith and the struggles I have. Yet I had forgotten that we are not expected to have a vast faith but just enough, even if it’s as small as a mustard seed. (Matt 17:19-21)

After all it is not my faith that achieves great acts but a faith in a God who can do great things. Doh!

In my reading notes I am reading Exodus and relating to the feeling of exile having to work so far away from my home. Today the readings highlighted Exodus 14:13,14. After the hope of freedom came the threatening approach of Pharoah to reclaim the Israelites. However, Moses encouraged them not to give up hope in verses 13,14 “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the Lord will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

What a challenge. Don’t run, don’t fret, just stand firm and be still.

So much to take in in such a short time but yet my faith and hope is in a God of action. Can I let him or do I feel the urge to do it my way?

Leave a Reply

Categories