Posted by: Mad Lamb | 28/06/2014

Dancing in the rain.

There are many places in the Bible that describe God as the protector in a storm. These are often metaphor for troubles of life. It is reassuring that , in his presence, we can shelter until the storm passes. A well-known blessing also reminds us of this promise … May He guide you through the wilderness, protect you through the storm.

So why was I so encouraged by a pithy saying on a fridge magnet in a shop window that said….Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass but about learning to dance in the rain?

In my posts over the last two years, I’ve been mostly talking about how I’ve been sheltering from the storms in my life…unexpected illness, a long commute and a reduction in financial income. Now I’m am out of the shadows of the dark clouds and looking at the approaching blue skies, I wonder if I could have been stronger and braver.

In 1 Kings 19, Elijah runs for his life and an Angel of God provides for him. However there comes a time, when strenghtened, he moves to Horeb, the mountain of God. There, God calls him to stand through storms, winds, an earthquake and fire before speaking in a whisper. Elijah felt threatened and alone but God encouraged him to return to his homeland and be aware of those who would support him. God showed Elijah that he could survive through physical and metaphorical storms.

The fridge magnet quote also reminded me of one of my favourite songs, “Though I feel Afraid”. The lyrics in the second verse say … the ship that is in the harbour is still and safe from harm, but it was not built to be there, it was made for wind and storm. There are times when we need to take shelter and regain strength, as Elijah did and it is reassuring that Jesus also said ‘Come to me who are weary and I will give you rest’ (Matthew 11). However, when Jesus gave the Great Commission (Matthew 28) he also reminded the disciples that he would be with them as they sought to go out in his name.

Perhaps this promise was passed onto Paul and Silas, who decided to sing while in prison rather than just wait to see what happens next (Acts 16). In their storm, they chose to sing. They chose to continue worshiping God, despite their circumstances, and rejoice in the blessings they have rather than dwell on current difficulties. So I hope that, when I face my next storm, I can reflect my gratitude, trust and faith in Jesus by singing or dancing in the rain.


Responses

  1. Ibelieve it is to turn your face three times and then to help the needed

  2. Yesterday it rained and I couldn’t dance or sing


Leave a comment

Categories