Posted by: Mad Lamb | 10/02/2016

Does the Bible ever shock you?

I decided to attempt reading the Bible in a year again. It’s been a while since I last did it but every time I have done, I usually find at least one passage I hadn’t ever noticed fully before.

Last night I was reading through the Old Testament passage, Exodus Chapter 4, and there it was in all it’s glory in verse 24…At a lodging place on the way, the Lord met Moses and was about to kill him.

I know Moses had killed an Egyptian, and tried to avoid speaking to the Israelites on God’s behalf, but surely this reaction was a bit excessive. Granted, I haven’t hunted in the commentaries about this to find the significance but I was shocked. However, I was also reassured by the following verse, where his wife acted to save his life.

In fact, I’m not sure what shocks me more – that God would appear to kill someone for not doing his will or that God’s plans can be changed. Perhaps next time I feel like moaning to God about what He wants me to do, I’ll think twice, or maybe I’ll just remember when something happens that seems predefined, I’ll pray a bit harder. Before either occurs, I think I’ll go and find that commentary.

Responses

  1. That is actually quite shocking! Would be interested to know what the commentaries say…Something to do with the fact that, pre-Jesus, God couldn’t look on/dwell alongside unrighteousness/evil etc? It does make you think of the cost of sin/disobedience, as you say. Hm. What have I failed to do for him recently? Thought provoking post..

  2. Another version said it was Moses’ son God was going to kill until Zipporah circumcised him. Steve has taken commentaries down to his church office so will ask for one back to check.

  3. Commentary says
    1)Moses had a serious illness so could have died from it
    2) Moses and eldest son were likely circumcised as common for Egyptians
    3) youngest son wasn’t,hence why Zipporah circumcising him and touching Moses meant Moses recovered from the illness


Leave a Reply

Categories